top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureBil Qalam

Coco connecting me to Dead

Coco. I watched this movie recently and it changed my mindset completely. What is this movie about? It's about a boy who wants to be a musician but his family opposes music due to some family history and the boy becomes rebellious and get cursed and ends up in the land of deads. You can find out other details by watching the movie it self




but the two things that I got from the movie are that your family is important and second is we need to remember the people who are gone because they want to be remembered in our prayers in our memories.People come and go . People die and we learn to live without them and then they are forgotten like they never existed .We spend our lives chasing materialistic things and getting recognization and then suddenly we get struck by Death. Our family, friends and many other cry for some time and suddenly our memories fade away. And thats when we really die and lost our existence.



We all have thought about these things at some point so how this movie effected me ? let me share may be a stupidest story of me. I have been a very ladli bachi of my family. I was really loved by my grand parents 👵👴 my dada and dadi and may be they always favored me and were so dear to my heart that imagining their death was not possible for me. I always thought my life would stop if they died but see here I am healthy wealthy writing this article after 3&4 years of their death . When my dadi fell ill for the last time i remember when she left for hospital she said may be she won't come back. She always use to say that and I never took it seriously because I hated to imagine. Then she went to hospital and her situation was critical. I was attempting my 2nd year exams when she was hospitalized , every one was saying that she may not survive and I use to get angry. I stopped talking and thinking about her, I started playing cold.I left my home and went to my khala's place to study may be it was an excuse to get rid of my own emotions at that time. Once I was angry and I told my phopho that if dadi ama died I won't be attending her funeral becuase for me it was most difficult thing. I still remember the day when she died. Everyone knew that she would expire any time I used to go to academy and at 7 am my van use to pick me up.I can't forget that day I wanted to leave home asap because I never wanted this to happen but may be Allah wanted me to go through this, my van was late that day my grandmother was taking her last breath I was holding her hand and reciting duas and literally fighting with malk ul mout that you can't take her with you. I use to do this every time she fell sick and then my father asked me to bring quran and I left my grandmothers hand and bought quran and as i reached she took her last breath in front of me. I was shattered but I didn't wanted to lose her. All day there was moaning but I kept talking to my friend on chat to divert my attention and I cried but avoid talking about her for the rest of my life.The very next year my grand father passed away but I don't talk about them very often. Only my close friends knew that i talk about them and how much I admire them. I rarely cried and thought they are no more. I never accepted that they have departed. I always give my self false excuses that I should imagine as if they are alive but not with me right now. My family thought I am cold hearted and selfish where as I was living in my false world only to stay strong .



So After 4 years I have realised that I can't stop talking about them and not remember them only to avoid the pain.They are dead but they will literally be gone when forgotten.If I want to keep them alive then I will have to remember them,let myself cry, let them know that they live in our hearts and memories and they are not forgotten,They do matter alot.



as it is believed that every Thursday the spirits of our family members visit us so I decided to get connected by giving them gift each time they visit us by reciting quran or duas for them for their peace. To let them know that they are loved And as a family we are together whether alive or dead.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Blog: Blog2_Custom_Feed_Widget
bottom of page